Pumpkin Madness!

It’s fall….fall means pumpkin.  For as long as I can remember, I’ve been obsessed with pumpkin…all things pumpkin, anything pumpkin! I was the one kid at family gatherings that would dig into the pumpkin pie. 

It’s no wonder fall is my FAVORITE season.  I would love pumpkin year-round, but, as my Mom pointed out recently, I probably wouldn’t love it as much if it was available ALL the time. 

Right now, if you enter our house you will smell pumpkin (Pumpkin Wallflower from Bath and Body works

glorious!

You will likely taste pumpkin (in the form of pumpkin smoothies, oats, cookies, cupcakes and SOON, lasagna…): 

Hellllllo Libby's!

worth another post!

and you will likely drink some pumpkin… coffee!: 

best.coffee.ever

Source 

A couple Fridays ago, I hit up Cost Plus World Market after work (so what if i like to spend friday’s at Cost Plus…stop judging me!)  They have an ENTIRE pumpkin section, with ciders (SO bomb!!!), cookies, candles, etc.  I was however immediately drawn to the PUMPKIN COFFEE! If you know me at all, you know two obsessions of mine: coffee and pumpkin.  Give me pumpkin coffee, and I’m a happy girl! 

I still had an abundance of my regular Target “Breakfast Blend” coffee  to use up (also tasty!) so I held off on opening the coveted pumpkin coffee…that is…until this morning. HOLY TOLEDO, you don’t even need to add creamer! This coffee has such a nice pumpkin/spicy kick already, you’re good to go as is! I did, however, add a splash of this: 

i told you...O.B.S.E.S.S.E.D.

Needless to say, my morning is off to a GREAT start! 

OH yes…as promised…ThePumpkin Spice Cupcake with Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting recipe: 

I spotted this recipe when Courtney from “Sweet Tooth, Sweet Life” guest posted on Carrots’N’Cake a few weeks back.  As soon as I saw it, I *knew* i must make these for work!  I just have to say, Courtney KNOWS her cupcakes!!! These were PHENOMENAL and got great reviews at home, and at work! 

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

Ingredients: 

1 box spice cake mix 

1 15oz. can pumpkin (not pumpkin pie mix) 

3/4 cup egg substitute 

1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce 

1/3 cup water 

1/2 tsp cinnamon 

1/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice 

Directions: 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Paper-line or grease 24 muffin cups. 

Blend cake mix, pumpkin, egg substitute, applesauce, water, cinnamon, and pumpkin pie spice until moistened. Beat on medium speed for 2 minutes. Pour batter into prepared muffin cups, about 3/4 full. 

Bake for 18-23 minutes or until wooden toothpick inserted into center comes out clean. After 10 minutes, remove from pans, place on wire racks, and cool completely. 

Prepare frosting according to directions and spread evenly on cupcakes. 

Honey Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting (i eliminated the honey, but only because I was lacking that ingredient) 

-1/2 cup butter, softened 

-4 oz. reduced fat cream cheese 

-1 tsp. cinnamon 

-1 tbsp. honey 

2-4 cups powdered sugar 

1-2 tbsp. milk 

  1. Cream butter until light and fluffy. Add the cream cheese and beat for another 2 minutes.
  2. Add the honey and cinnamon, and gradually add the powdered sugar one cup at a time.
  3. Add the milk and more powdered sugar (if needed) until you get your desired consistency.

Make these cupcakes NOW, and then let me know how much you/your loved ones/your coworkers loved them… 

Now…I’ll leave you with this little gem.  I was on my way to the gym Saturday morning, and contemplated skipping my class in order to go to THIS (i kid, kinda): 

Pirate Festival! Looks pretty legit...

I hope you all had a fabulous weekend, hopefully FILLED with all things Pumpkin! =0) 

What is your favorite fall flavor/scent!? 

Janna

p.s. I ran four PAIN FREE miles this weekend, a HUGE win given my recent ankle issues/running break! two 1/10mi walk breaks and i finished in a little over 38min. Score!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Pumpkin Madness!

  1. I am all about pumpkin right now, however I only crave it in the fall. It doesn’t seem right to have pumpkin anything when it’s spring.

  2. i love pumpkin year round! this year i am definitely saving some cans to enjoy when there’s none in the stores. i missed it!!

  3. THANK YOU for sharing where I can get P-spice coffee! I love World Market and now must go ASAP.

    LOVE pumpkin more than anything.

    As for scents…vanilla ;)

Leave a Reply

