Fall Goals!

I feel like January 1st was just yesterday…I know people say this all the time, and it is really cliché… but this year is really flying by! It seems not that long ago, I rang in the New Year (in my “happy place”, Disneyland) and I proclaimed that 2K10 would be a great year.   

My Happy Place!

Source  

Although it has overall been a fantastic year (I’ve spent a lot of time with friends/family, made a few new friends, ran a few races, saved some moohlah, been on vacations, started my blog, etc), there are some things I wouldn’t have minded changing (i.e. I wouldn’t have missed 2 of the 4 half marathons I registered for…only one was by choice.  I would have stuck to my goals of losing my extra lbs.  I would have been more serious on my “get out of debt” goal.  I would have put a little more into savings each payday).   

Seeing as this year is coming to an end (quickly), I’ve decided I should set some goals.  The last few months of the year tend to be more difficult to maintain balance in, and I want to eliminate that this year!  I want to conclude this year the way I had planned start/maintain the year!  Since it is typical for the last few months of the year to be a bit more chaotic when it comes to all things I want to work on (spending, saving, waistline, etc) I figured I needed to get my goals out there for  the world (or my 8 readers) to see!  

So here we go, Janna’s 2K10 Fall Goals:  

Fitness  

I’ve recently discovered that although I am cardiovascularly fit (I can run, bike, and turbo jam like it’s going out of style!) I am not “strong”.  I have been sore for 2 straight days from doing a measly 25 push-ups…girl style.  I don’t like this.  I therefore would like to incorporate some sort of “strength” activity into my workout schedule, and think that doing ~10 or so minutes daily would be perfect.  As you may recall here, I like setting “challenges”, therefore I want to ramp this same “challenge” up one last time for the 2K10 year, and begin another Superman Ab Challenge/Strong Arm Challenge.  Of course I’m not limiting myself to these exercises, but I basically just want to do some sort of strength activity for minimum of 10min a day. Obtainable.  

Additionally, as you have noted in previous posts, I have had to cut back on my running.  I am slowly easing my way back in, in an effort to keep further injuries at bay.  I have one last “race” this year, but it happens to be as a team.  I will be participating with 3 other co-workers in one leg of a marathon.  My leg will be one of the 7 mile legs, which is a totally obtainable mileage for me.  I am therefore concentrating on training “smarter not harder”, and taking it slow.  I am also working on my speed during this time, as I am not covering insane amounts of miles each week.  My goal (I can’t belive I am going to put this out there) is to finish my leg in under a 9min mile pace.  I’ve done two half marathons right at a 9min/mile pace, so again…I know this is obtainable…but I will need to work and focus in order to obtain this!  

Lastly, I need to keep my “activity” tab up to date.  I track all my workouts in a book, but I just need to keep up to date on my blog .  Right now it looks like I haven’t exercised since the end of August and that is not the case.  

Money  

I have been working hard these last few months to pay off a little debt that I have left.  I am no longer using credit, however, I still have stuff to pay.  My goal for the next few months is to pay my typical payment each month…twice.  I will therefore pay my CC each payday (bi-weekly paydays)!  Totally obtainable.  

My savings goal is to keep my same automatic deposit each payday, but not allowing myself to withdrawal from this.  I tend to give myself the “ok” to do this a little too often, it’s a bad habit.  For the next three months, NO touching my savings!  

Weight  

I hate, hate, HATE weight goals.  I think that they can be a major burden on people, and can really wear a person thin (if only that were literal…). I don’t want to set any specific weight goal. What is weight, anyway? Just numbers.  I do, however, want to get to a more “happy” place.  My clothes are snug.  I hate shopping (blasphemy).  I often cringe when I catch my reflection…I am not proud of this, but I do know that I would be much happier at a healthier weight.  My weight goal therefore is to get back to my “happy” place, by the end of the year.  Without saying numbers, I will say that this is obtainable (healthily) with a little more discipline than I have shown over the last year. 

happy place

Like I said earlier, the end of the year is tough.  There are more holiday’s with weird food related traditions than I know what to do with…but I do know that these are holidays we have EVERY year, and we will have every other year of my life (unless someone finally wises up and realizes plopping turkey and pie on our tables does not signify these days in the least….)  

Moving on… In short, it is ok to turn down food. You should not feel the need to eat every cookie, cake, etc at work…even if the office Grandma did make it, and it is delicious.  Being happy/healthy will give you far more satisfaction than a darn cookie.  Oh, and NO DONUTS.  We have our interim audit, which occurs toward the end of this year.  For some reason, the auditors bring us bagels and donuts every Friday that they are at our office during audit. Last year, I ate an embarrassing amount of those circular dough balls from heaven.  Not this year.  I am not even going to START on that downward spiral.  The donut was like a gateway food to a weekend of bad decisions.  My goal for audit: NO DONUTS OR BAGELS. not even one. They’re not even that great…the middle is missing for goodness sake! 

NO DONUT FALL!

Life Goals  

DFO  

DFO=Don’t freak out.  I recently had a bit of a stressful project at work, and after packing up late on a friday, and getting my papers ready for the following monday, I left myself a note regarding the process I was using to come up with my calculations and other notes to jog my memory about where I left off and whatnot.  I also wrote “DON’T FREAK OUT” at the top…just as a reminder that monday morning that it wasn’t as big/crazy/overwhelming of a project as it might seem.  

In short, I want to be less of a stress case…freak out less if  you will…”don’t sweat the small stuff”.  Fortunately, I do accounting.  No one is going to die (hopefully!) from decisions  make/work I do.  Freaking out does not help anyone, and will likely cause me to have zero friends at work. LOL 

DFO!

 Source

Social 

Social goals?  Who am I???? I know this may sound lame to some, but what is lame is my life. lol.  When my co-worker encouraged me to have a second cup of coffee last Friday, and then followed with “it’s ok, it’s laundry friday!” I knew that my life was officially LAME.  I had mentioned the week before that a trip to Starbuck’s during an afternoon slump was ok because I would be up late anyway, doing laundry…she remembered this, and helped me to see HOW much I need to work on this goal.  

I used to be fun! I used to go out and do stuff, and not use the “i’m too tired/i want to put on my sweatpants” excuse…My social goal is to therefore NOT turn down invitations.  Granted, I can’t take on all invitations I receive (that would be counterproductive)…but when someone asks me to do something fun/that I would enjoy, I really need to make more of an effort to give it a whirl!  I can lounge in my sweats when I’m old! 

...or I could just wear my sweatpants out....;0)

Well there you have it… Fall Goals in all their glory!  

Sorry for such a lengthy/boring post.  It does feel nice to put that out there, though!  

Did you set goals this year?  How have they gone for you?  

Do you have any fall goals for yourself? Let me hear them!!!

 

Happy Fall!

Janna

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “Fall Goals!

  1. Derrick

    “Likes this” to all of this! Feel free to pass on the donuts to me ;). DFO = my fav acronym to date.

  2. good luck! i love the DFO :) i need to use that in my life too!

  3. Oh I love how detailed (and attainable) your goals are. I just spelled out my fitness goals on my blog, but now I’m thinking more about life & fun goals and might post those too. Thx for the inspiration.

  4. Oh man, y0u and I both on the social goals! I used to be fun too :( Being an adult is SO tiresome!

  5. What great goals and thanks for sharing them with us. I liked that you had a social category because, let’s face it, work can push that way down on the priority list.

    I’d like to get back to my happy weight. (During Summer, I always gain a few..weird right). I’d like to start going back to Bikram again. And I’d like to stop being so hard on myself!

  6. I can’t remember any goals I set myself this year but my years had been GREAT even without specific goals. I do have some things in mind for next year :)

  7. I’m stealing your DFO goal.

    If you’re looking for a good (read: “sore for days”) ab workout that works your whole midsection + hip flexors + thighs, google “Russell Crowe Gladiator ab workout.” Or maybe it was 3000? If you don’t find it let me know and I’ll email you. Requires a bench + a racked bar, so it’s not really oh-shit-it’s-midnight-im-ready-for-bed-but-forgot-to-do-abs friendly, but if you’re in the gym and want to look like a badass it’s a winner.

    Also, w as long as this comment turned out to be I could have just told you how to do it. Woops.

  8. Love that you put it out there. I think that best way to achieve goals…is the 1st have them and list them with details. That way it can be attainable and not too general.

    I’m getting into strength training this fall too, I’m more consistent with the weights and doing them 3 times a week.

    I like the Disneyland picture of your happy place. It’s mine too.

  9. hey girl hope all is well!!!

Leave a Reply

