“skinny bread” muffins and “skinny bread” scuffins!

HeyHeyyy!

So I figured I’d just do a quick little photo recap of some recent events before getting to the yumtastic baking that took place this evening! Please keep in mind…I am quite aware that the quality in my photos is lacking, but it’s not about the quality, now is it? Focus on the content people! Content! 

a little *teaser* of what's to come...browse on for details!

I got a flat tire...

AAA to the rescue! i realized yearly AAA membership for christmas from my mom is actually a pretty stellar gift.

i decided i'm kind of over my daily commute....

...but if i *must* commute, i want to paint my car like this! (yes, an actual car i saw in the parking lot)

we met a cute puppy on our daily work walk.

i ate *epic* cupcakes!

ANNNNNNDDD…… 

i found this bad boy on CLEARANCE for 4 bucks at Marshalls! Balllller

There you have it. My life as of late, in a nutshell. 

This morning, I awoke with gusto knowing that I was heading to my FAVORITE gym class! X-Bike.  Awesome instructors, awesome tunes, kickbutt workout!  Seriously though, what other class can you think of where you get results like this: 

the 30 min class....

45 min class.

Post workout and showering off my stink, I had to take the stinkin car in to get my tire fixed and replaced.  Can I get a whatwhaaaat for free tire repair from Les Schwab!???? When I picked up my car, they said “just remember us for future tire needs, have a good day”. Holllla! I wanted to hug the greasy sweaty man…that’s JUST how much I like a good (or free) deal! 

During said tire repair, the mom and I hit up Marshalls where I scored the ballin deal on the Justin’s.  I swear, that place is a foodies paradise. 

So, I’m sure many of you are avid Oh She Glows readers, no?  If not, check out her blog!  I just love Angela’s blog for healthy recipes… not to mention she just has just such lovely, positive posts! A few days ago,  Miss Oh She Glows  posted a recipe for “Healthy Carrot Cake Power Scuffins“.  Tina over at Carrots’N’Cake made them promptly after.  They looked so, SO delicious…but there was just one little problem; I’m not a huge fan of carrots.   

Switching gears…A few days ago, one of the very nice ladies in my department brought in a bag full of GIGANTIC zucchini fresh from her garden.  This lady is the stereotypical “Grandma/Mom” of the department.  She is the kind of lady that is so sweet you just want to go home and live with her, but is such a spitfire, that she isn’t afraid to tell you when she thinks your hair “looks funny”. I just love her. Anywho, back to the gigantic zucchini. 

I knew I had to do something pretty outstanding with these veggies…but what? 

Remember growing up how your house would just FILL with that fantastic scent of zucchini bread (or as the kid’s in my Mom’s daycare called it, “skinny bread“, which it was FAR from…).  I remember it quite well.  Zucchini bread has always been one of those foods that is sort of a “you can look, but don’t touch” in my book.  I know how much oil, sugar, and flour goes into one of those bad boys…and to me, that all translates into a new pair of jeans for Janna.  No bueno!  The “low-cal” versions just never compare, either. 

Kids, hold onto your hats….here’s where things get serious.  My wheels started turning and I began thinking…”What if I combined the recipe that Miss “Oh She Glows” and Miss “Carrots’N’Cake” made look so delicious, subtract the food that makes me cringe, and add what I have an abundance of on hand…” Viola! An adaptation of Angela’s “Healthy Carrot Cake Power Scuffin”–>Healthy SkinnyBread Power Scuffin. Head spinning yet? 

I followed Angela’s recipe almost to a T, with the substitution of dried cranberries for raisins (also not a big fan of those…) 

Here are the ingredients, and I’ll take you through the process!  Since I knew there would be an abundance of the ‘zuch left over, I also made some “skinny muffins” for my dad!  Hey, I’m working on “favorite kid” status here…last month I made him peanut butter oatmeal cookies that pretty much sealed the deal, but I want to make certain with these muffins! ;0)  

First, the gigantic Zucchini!  

HUGE!

The recipe for my dad’s “skinny bread” muffins was from this book, but can also be found here…..if you dare. “Mom’s Zucchini Bread“. 

“Healthy Carrot Cake Zucchini Bread Power Scuffins” with my adaptations: 

Ingredients: 

  • 1 cup whole grain spelt flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking power
  • 1/4 tsp fine grain sea salt
  • 1.5 tsp pumpkin pie spice (OR: 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp ginger)
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 cup pure maple syrup* (note below)
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • Chia/flax egg: 1 tbsp ground chia seeds + 3 tbsp water OR 1 tbsp ground flax + 3 tbsp water, mixed and set aside for 5 mins **(i once had a bad chia “egg” experience where i accidently made ~2c of egg….so i went with flax this time! lol)**
  • 1/2 cup regular oats
  • 1 cup shredded or grated carrots (approx 2 medium) zucchini
  • 1/4 cup raisins cranberries
  • 1/4 cup toasted, chopped walnuts
  • Coconut, for garnish

  

Directions: Preheat oven to 350F. In a small bowl, mix the chia/flax egg and set aside. In a large sized bowl whisk together all of the dry ingredients. Using a food processor or grater, process/grate the carrots. In a medium sized bowl mix together the wet ingredients (carrots, vanilla, oil, maple syrup, chia/flax egg). Add wet to dry and mix until just incorporated. Stir in the walnuts and raisins. Scoop mixture onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper or greased with oil. Scoop about 1/4 cup for each Scuffin to make 6 large scuffins. Wet hands and shape into a circle if desired. Sprinkle with coconut. Bake for 25 minutes at 350F. 

SOURCE 

**** I have to admit this…. you will see cute little patterns under my bowls in each picture.  It started out as a way to mask our ugly green counters and therefore make pictures more pleasant.. but ended up being quite possibly my best “accident” yet!  Here is my brilliant tip for you all: put down a sheet of fabric (mine was old pillowcases) to do your mixing on.  When you are through, all you have to do is gather the corners, take outside and Shake, and then toss into the washer. Easy peasy clean-up yo!**** 

oh snap! how did that get in here? *sigh* ok, i was watching the season 2 premier whilst baking...you caught me...

 Step 1:  Mix the Flax “egg” and set aside. 

Flax "egg" mixture

Step 2: Whisk together dry ingredients 

dry ingredients whisking away

this could have been disastrous! I originally had the right ingredient in my hand, ready to measure...eeeks!

Step 3:  Grate the carrots zucchini 

no lovely picture of this step…I’m bummed…the bowl ended up being HUGE, and i now have scrambled egg filler for dayyyyys! 

Step 4: Mix the wet ingredients (carrots zuchini, vanilla, oil, maple syrup, flax egg).   

how white trash is this? i lost the cap, and this is my "makeshift" replacement. ghet-to.

Step 5:  Mix wet to dry (I did opposite…whoops!) and mix until just incorporated 

fist pumping away...whoops, i mean mixing away!

Step 6:  Stir in the walnuts and raisins cranberries 

truth time: I accidently added the walnuts and cranberries to the “dry” mix done in step 5. I tend to get ahead of myself… 

Step 7:  Scoop mixture onto a greased baking sheet 

i failed the "spacing things evenly" class.

Step 8:  Sprinkle with coconut and bake for 25 min at 350F. (again, i can’t follow directions and therefore coconut was added AFTER baking) 

Step 9: Take a peek whilst scuffins are baking (ok, I made this one up…i just get TOO anxious!) 

how you doin'....?

Step 9: Take your yumtastic scuffins out of the oven to cool 

sweetbabyjesus

if nothing else, it's a beautiful creation!

Luckily, these bad boys aren’t just “beauty”. They are so very tasty!  I give this recipe adaptation TWO very enthusiastic thumbs up, and can NOT wait to enjoy one before my run tomorrow morning! 

Now, since I know you’re all curious how my “win favorite kid” skinny muffins turned out…a short little picture story for you….=0) Enjoy! 

this looks more like a science project...is it supposed to do that?????

man down! even my measuring cup didn't agree with the amount of sugar this recipe called for...it just snapped mid scoop! boo!

the wet ingredients!

man numero dos down! i guess i didn't realize how strong all the "fist pumping" while jersey shore watching made me!

 

wet, meet dry!

dude, i was making "scuffin's"....not "snooki's"...now scram!

don't act like you're not impressed...

surley i'll win "favorite kid" after this...

now this, my friends, is what i call a "situation". thank goodness for my new handy-dandy cleanup trick!

I hope you enjoyed this as much as I enjoyed making them!  I seriously didn’t realize how much I actually *do* enjoy cooking! 

Do you enjoy baking? What’s your all-time favorite thing to make?  I’m a die-hard cookie fan. hands down. 

ALSO, don’t forget to enter to win some fabulous Popchips coupons in the ‘Poppin post below!

Janna

17 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

17 responses to ““skinny bread” muffins and “skinny bread” scuffins!

  1. Pingback: Fueling For Long Runs — Oh She Glows

  2. Meredith

    Please continue the Jersey Shore theme in all future posts.

    Also, I wiped out Bel-Air’s supply of Dark Chocolate Dreams this morning. I wanted to get one to talk to SF this week as I’ll be working with Jamie and introducing her to oats, but then I decided I definitely needed three, since three is better than one. 🙂 Anyways, while googling yesterday to try to find anyone local who makes vegan chocolates, I found this page:
    http://vegansaurus.com/post/698430449/vegan-chocolate-spreads

    Ya baby, this girl’s making herself a grilled banana DCD sammich for lunch.

    (PS, no luck on the local vegan chocolates thing. Obviously a business opportunity for the VGCC.)

    • if i leave now, i can be there in time for lunch! yummm! let me know how that turns out, yo!

      oh, that is FOR SURE a VGCC business opp. we’ll just open up shop in The Cloud’s back yard, next to our tents.

      • the Cloud

        I think I might start looking for a camper/RV… that way, we could have a mobile vegan chocolate vending business that could be parked in the backyard, thus eliminating the need for the Tent City. I’m sure the neighbors will be cool with it. Brilliant.

  3. i love cupcakes…and muffins…basically anything that’s carby. BTW i can’t believe you found that shizzle at MARSHALLS. WTF?

  4. Oh She Glows is such a great site. She got me started! Really great job on your muffins!

  5. Boo on the flat tire! But yay on those scuffins!

  6. I’m really don’t like baking that much, I would like to be better and like it but I’m more a cooking kinda girl 🙂

  7. i love baking anything! i’m making bread and cookies today. yum! 🙂 also…. i love the pillowcase idea… my apt kitchen is truly awful and plain, so i just might steal that idea from you!

  8. Pingback: Winner! & workday one mayhem « Janna's Keeping It Real!

  9. Pingback: Dog Insurance : : Yoga Puppy - Insurance Today

  10. Pingback: Beautiful Zucchini Scuffins | The Couch Potato Athlete

  11. Pingback: Power Piña Colada and some faves! « Janna's Keeping It Real!

  12. Hello, Neat post. There is a problem together with your web site in internet explorer, might test this? IE still is the marketplace leader and a huge section of other people will omit your great writing due to this problem.

Leave a Reply

