My legs…

Since I haven’t shared any AAL (awesome at life) moments with you lately, I figured I’d start this post with a light hearted mood and show, quite possibly, my best AAL moment to date. Enjoy:
 

I get pooped on by birds more than your average person. One of the many reasons I’m thankful I carry wet ones in my purse. You just never know, my friends. You just never know….I’d like to dedicate this little video to Jamie. ;0) 

Ok, onto my legs…. 

Last night, I was utilizing “the stick” to work out some knots my legs decided to provide me as punishment for the little track attack I put them through a few days ago (LOVE this device, btw). 

The Stick

source 

As I used this bad boy on my bare legs, my instinctual critical mind stepped in, and tried to let negative (or shall I say, “fat talk”) thoughts come to the surface. 

As you saw in my last post, I am quite the advocate for Caitlin, and  her “operation beautiful” movement, which is an effort to ELIMINATE these very thoughts my mind was trying to communicate to me. 

“That is ENOUGH” I told myself…. “If I’m such a strong believer in Caitlin and her words of true wisdom, why am I letting these negative thoughts even cross my mind?” 

In honor of Operation Beautiful’s “Change the Way You See, Not the Way You Look”, I started to mentally list why my legs are so wonderful, and friends…let me be the first to say, these are all facts I truly believe.

Enjoy…. 

My legs are strong.... and have taken me 26.2 miles at one time, helping me cross the finish line of my very first marathon.

My legs have taken me hiking between the beautiful towns of Cinque Terre, Italy.

more of the hike

My legs are forgiving, and have helped me move 7 times in the past 5yrs. Thank goodness for brothers!

My legs make it possible to have fun and play with my much younger nieces and nephew.

My legs have helped me cover every square inch of one of my favorite places in the world, on numerous occassions!

My legs help me feel young at heart.

My legs have helped me prove to a (male) friend that it is entirely possible to run in heels (though not recommended).

My legs have taken me on runs in beautiful places...

....and not so beautiful places.

Though by societies standards they’ve forced upon us, my legs are not “perfect”….they are to me!  My legs are strong, and my legs are beautiful. I am  thankful that I have the ability to do things many, unfortunately, cannot… and I have my legs to thank! They are the only legs I’ll ever have (unless of course that olympic runner leg transplant comes through…) so I need to love ’em! 

Have you ever had that “knock it off!!!” moment when negative thoughts are trying to make their way into your life? How did you conquer those?  Tell me something beautiful about YOU now! :0) 

Happy Saturday! 

Janna 

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “My legs…

  1. I can easily get consumed with negative thoughts about myself, and when I start thinking like that, I quickly tell myself something positive about myself. It is def a work in progress, but I am getting better.

    My shoulders are sculpted and beautiful!!!

    Great post!

  2. This post is great! I love it! We should all do something like this for ourselves!

  3. woohoo! way to celebrate operation beautiful 🙂

  4. I love this post. It’s good that you list these things about your strong and beautiful legs, now whenever those negative thoughts creep in, you’ll have this post to keep your positive.

    I have quotes posted on my desk. Whenever I start to feel bad about something, I have different quotes I look at and it usually snaps me out of it.

    • I love myself a good quote! I put a “quote board” up in my cubicle, and welcomed my co-workers to add to it. We put up inspiring quotes, funny quotes, or just silly things that one of us says…

      right now there is an “i like to think i’m superwoman, but i’m more like pee-wee herman” which was provided by one of the ladies in our group after taking on a little too much….=0)

  5. ugh. so yesterday I was out and about and saw the BACK of my legs in a mirror….yeah…back of legs are NEVER flattering…but I quickly stopped myself and said “f*ck it, your legs are STRONG..keep rockin”

  6. This post was great, strong legs rule!

  7. Channin

    Thank you for sharing that. It is amazing how often I forget the simple things that I should be grateful for. So inspiring to start of my morning. Thank you 🙂

  8. Pingback: RPFMP – Random Photos From My Phone « Janna's Keeping It Real!

  9. Lora

    Just what I needed today. Thanks for such a great post!

Leave a Reply

