Coco’N’Oat Apricot Cookies

This Monday > Last Monday, in a big way. 

The brother and I sleep walked bounded out the door this morning to get our run on….an 8mi run, to be exact.  I was all set for a nice negative split, but then at around mi 5.5, I had to take a walk break…3 times. Sometimes, I hate my guts.  literally. I ended up finishing in 68minutes, the brother would lap me during walk breaks, so he ended up with ~9mi.  All in all it was an enjoyable run, and a great way to start the week! 

I then stuck my finger in the ceiling fan during one of my 15 wardrobe changes.  It bled. 

Do you do that…Change your outfit multiple times before settling? Oy. everyday when i get home, i have more clothes to hang up from my morning escapades. 

I had one of my “Power Pina Colada’s” post run, and it was fantastic! 

On friday, I had bookmarked a cookie recipe from PreventionRD that I knew would be perfect for my weekend Dad baking (I tend to see my dad on Sunday’s, after he attends church for a movie…I like him to leave with some treats for the week!  He’s always had a nightly “dessert”.  He’s a smart man).  I made a few adaptations to the recipe, in order to use items I had (and avoid purchasing chocolate…which is basically a disaster for me to have on in the house. lol).  

The original recipe prepared by PreventionRD, for Toasted Coconut Chocolate Chunk Cookies was originally obtained from Cooking Light.  See my adaptations (and therefore change in nutritional information) below:  

Coco’N’Oat Apricot Cookies  

1 cup flaked sweetened coconut
4.5 ounces all-purpose flour (~1 cup) 1/2 cup all-purpose flour + 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/8 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 cup  50/50 Smart Balance Butter Blend, softened (I actually didn’t have this, so mine utilized unsalted butter, but the nutrition stats below are with 50/50 Smart Balance Butter Blend)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 large egg (i didn’t have eggs on hand, therefore I used 1/4c Egg Beaters)
2 ounces  dark chocolate (70% cacao), chopped (again, chocolate is a DISASTER so i used 1/4c Smuckers Simply Fruit Apricot Preserves)
Cooking spray  

Directions:  

Preheat oven to 350°.  

Step 1: Arrange coconut in a single layer in a small baking pan. Bake at 350° for 7  8 minutes or until lightly toasted, stirring once. Set aside to cool.  

coconut pre-toasted...i forgot to photograph the toasted...imagine this, but slightly brown.

Step 2:Weigh or lightly spoon flour into a dry measuring cup; level with a knife. Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a medium bowl; stir with a whisk until blended.  

dry goods

Step 3: Place sugar and butter in a large bowl; beat with a mixer at medium speed until well blended. Beat in vanilla and egg. (***If you’re making my version, also add your Apricot Preserves at this point***)  

 

  

wet goods

Step 4: Add flour mixture, beating at low speed just until combined. Stir in toasted coconut and chocolate. (once again, i didn’t follow the directions and hand mixed, backward….wet into dry. it worked fine)  

wet, meet dry

Step 5: Drop by level tablespoons 2 inches apart onto baking sheets coated with cooking spray.  

i really need new baking sheets that don't require foil....;0)

Step 6:  Bake at 350° for 10 minutes or until bottoms of cookies just begin to brown. Remove from pan, and cool completely on wire racks. Yield: 24 cookies.  

sweetbabyjesus

yes, yes they do taste as good as they look!!!

once again, just making certain i win "favorite kid"

The nutritional breakdown, which can be found here is as follows:  

Per Cookie: 99.4 calories, 2.8g Fat, 32g sodium, 20.2g Carbohydrate, .9g Fiber, 11.7g Sugar, 1.4g Protein 

I quickly packaged the cookies up, so as to not eat them all…yes, THAT good.  15 for the dad, 3 for the mom (she wanted to try them, but didn’t want a lot!),  and 6 for my home….incase you suck at math and ran out of fingers/toes…this recipe yields 24 servings.    

i never said i was good at wrapping.

i should win some sort of award for this skill...;0)

My dad called me yesterday afternoon and said “I had planned to have lunch and then a cookie…but i ended up having a cookie first.  They looked TOO good not to! They’re delicious!” 

Another Dad approved recipe! =0) 

Happy Monday!  

Janna 

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Coco’N’Oat Apricot Cookies

  1. those cookies look great 🙂

  2. Meredith

    I cracked up at the ceiling fan. Sorry. Hope your finger is ok.

  3. I am literally laughing out loud, we wrap just alike!

    • after uploading these pictures, i revisited and just shook my head. my favorite part is the crinkled tissue paper. it’s SO obvious i just dug it out of my “gift wrap bin” and didn’t even bother to try to straighten. i never said i was crafty! haha

  4. that is cute that you bake for your dad. he seems like a dessert guy.

    I tried making healthy dishes for my family I made quinoa salad and my dad said “This rice is weird, what’s wrong with it?” lol.

    • oh my goodness! that SO sounds like something my dad would say. my mom had him try hummus the other day for the first time, and when i asked him if he liked it he said “it was alright…it almost tasted too healthy though… she had me dip a bell pepper in it”

      oh dads!

Leave a Reply

